Design Studio: The Pit

The Fab Lab

Quick Start

  • Room 134 Spencer Lab
  • Orange Badge Training Required
  • Carpentry shop & general assembly space
  • Hours: Daily, 6:00am – 11:59pm
  • Pit TA Office hours

About This Space

The Pit is the main workroom for prototype assembly and non-precision machining. The space is equipped with hand and power tools for prototyping in plastic and wood, and it is well stocked with raw materials, hardware, and found components. The space is accessible to all students who have completed orange badge training. Some equipment requires TA consent before usage but is otherwise open for students to use freely. Students can also enjoy having access to all equipment in the lab for personal projects, but are asked to supply their own material.

Equipment & Supplies

The Pit also maintains a stockroom with a good selection of wood and wide variety of components ranging from castors to springs to hydraulic tubing and everything in between!

Need Additional Help?

Contact a Pit TA for more information. If you need additional Office Hours, email a TA to schedule an appointment.


Jacob Flenner
Co-Lead TA
jflenner@udel.edu


Caylin Payne
Co-Lead TA
caypayne@udel.edu


Franklin Alas
TA
alas@udel.edu


Angel Casanova
TA
casanova@udel.edu


Ryan Cole
TA
rycole@udel.edu


Lauren DeSantis
TA
laurende@udel.edu


Luke Dosen
TA
dosenlu@udel.edu


Aidan Fleischhacker
TA
aidanfly@udel.edu


Jiro Guillen
TA
jiro@udel.edu


Vea Hernandez
TA
vea@udel.edu


Sibyl Roosen
TA
sibyl@udel.edu


Thomas Schaeffer
TA
tschaeff@udel.edu


Jenna Taylor
TA
jmtaylor@udel.edu


Bryan Tiamson
TA
bry@udel.edu

Pit TA Office Hours

AcademicsDesign StudioWork AreasThe Pit